Serious Discussions

Bismillah,

My kids seriously trying to engage in conversations about Hereafter, Jannah and Allah swt. Usually I link one of their daily tasks to good deeds->Kiraman Katebin->Day of Judgement->Jannat and rewards to good belivers etc.

Sumayya and Safiyya are both so inquisitive about all the little details and keep asking me more and more questions. So, the other day I was flashing the names of Allah swt at circle time. Sumayya, mashAllah, can read in Arabic and improving daily. She reads the flashcards and if I know the meaning I try to explain. She read the word AlJamiyl in Arabic and I was saying that it means The Most Beautiful. Usually we have made a rule that none can say “I am the most beautiful” or “so and so the most beautiful” etc in our house. We always have to say that everybody is beautiful and equal. Therefore Sumayya started arguing with me

Sumayya: No, mommy. Everybody is the most beautiful
I said: Allah is the Most Beautiful and then everyone else is beautiful
S: No, but everyone is beautiful as well
I: Yes but Allah is the most beautiful.
At this point Safiyya too started arguing
Safiyya: No mommy, Allah is beautiful and everyone is beautiful, same-same.
I: Allah is more beautiful than everyone else. You, me, daddy- we are all less beautiful than Allah swt. Allah is the best beautiful

They were both so touched by this, by the fact that Allah is the absolute most Beautiful that there is nothing and none to compare to Him azza wa jal on earth. Well, to be honest, I too get so emotional when I try to explain these things to my kids. Explaining it to little children in a language that is appealing to them reinforces all the reality of the Beauty of Allah swt in me. SubhanAllah, even writing this I am getting so emotional thinking will I be able to get to see Him swt in the Hereafter?

Anyway, my girls were so moved to know that Allah is the most beautiful and immediately Sumayya asked her next question

-Mommy, is Allah a boy or a girl
-He swt is not a boy nor a girl. We don’t know that Sumayya
-But does He have eyelashes
-I dont know Sumayya. (then I looked at her innocent face for shortwhile). Do you really want to see Allah?
-Yes, mom, I really want to see Him
-Then you have to be really good, extra good. You always have to listen to me, daddy, grandma. Never fight with Safiyya, be kind to all your friends, share your clothes with miskeen and do all the good deeds in the world. Then on the day of Judgement Allah counts all your good and bad deeds. If you have more good deeds then Allah swt will enter you into Jannah and that’s where you see Allah

Then I could see what I said was really having an effect on her. Whenever we read a story, if a character is good then kids keep asking me if he/she is in Jannah. I say I dont know except when we read the prophets’ stories then I know the answer is yes. So, they know all the prophets will be in Jannah together and all the good people will be in Jannah together. And Allah is the only one who can decide it.

They have got into the habit of reading a surah from the Qur’an and making dua before bed time. None asked this, none mentioned;, it was Sumayya’s initiative and when I praised her for doing so Safiyya joined. Usually I read to them 2-3 books, read the surah Falaq, Nas, Ikhlas and leave the room after blowing on to them. Thereafter they read various different surah from the Qur’an, their evening and before bedtime duas in Arabic  plus they make long list of duas in Uzbek. With lights off, I wait behind the door to catch what they are saying. So, Sumayya was making the following dua last night

-Ya my Allah, will I get to Jannah or no….(long pause) Please send your angels to count my good deeds soon. Will have more good deeds or no, my Allah please let me have more good deeds. Let me listen to mommy and go to Jannah

SubhanAllah. They keep asking me so much about Jannah too, usually the question is if there will be an item X in Jannah. Such as, will there be a seaside? a lake? a bouncy castle? an ice-cream van, princesses, castles etc. I have to give them long list of things they could find in Jannah. I say to Safiyya “You can eat as much orange as you like in Jannah because none gets eczema there”. They know none gets poorly in Jannah and none gets dirty even if they play in the mud lol.

I am teaching 2 other homeschooled kids 2 days a week. MashAllah they are such wonderful kids of age 6. We had a long discussion on Jannah with them too and kids were so quick to bring out all their knowledge of Jannah at circle time. Dawud, one of the kids, was saying “You know in Jannah people dont need a bathroom. You can eat all you want but you still dont need a toilet” lol. I was so impressed with his knowledge lol. Alhamdulillah, I try to build on the love of Allah, the love of Qur’an and the love of the prophet saw in a positive way. So, the description of Jannah really motivates them to be the person we want, inshaAllah.

Whenever I want my girls to get on with their little tasks I remind them of angels writing down their good/bad deeds. Also at circle times I do mental comparisons with good/bad deeds. This is a bit too easy for Sumayya but we do it for Safiyya and her elder sister has a turn too, even if she finds it too easy.
-You have 8 good deeds and 5 bad deeds which one is more. Tell me when I clap.

They havent had a chance to use their good deeds tree lately but they somehow remembered it today and were rushing here and there, polishing, tidying etc in order to earn a leaf for their Good Deeds Tree. Alhamdulillah, they help me out a lot around the house.

MashAllah, whatever we do we try to link it back to Allah swt and end up having an important conversations on Aqeedah. Even little Safiyya has picked up so much about HereAfter from our little discussions here and there. I feel this is the real blessing of homeschooling.  We can be an “in-the-moment” mom in the lives of our children inshaAllah.

My little helpers are washing the dishes after breakfast. They bake 2-3 times a week and help with tiding up daily. MashAllah.

   

2 thoughts on “Serious Discussions

  1. Dinara says:

    BarakaAllahu feek! A follow up question, sis. Recently we saw an arabic cartoon “Forgive me, mum!”, where a son refused to take his mother to the hospital hurrying up to his work. When he returned, she was taken dead by the Ambulance. He went to her grave and whined. This short cartoon had a great effect on my child, and obviously a discussion on death had started. I explained that we all die, and when parents die children must always make dua and ask Allah to forgive their parents and be reunited in Jannah. She kept hugging me and said “i don’t want you to die, I don’t want you to die.” Then I was thinking if it wasn’t a counterproductive effect on her actually, if it wasn’t too early to present this topic (4,5 yo)? Hopefully I don’t find my child too much stressed after all…I follow your advice on reminding kids about all the bounties waiting for believers in Jannah and how hard we should strive to get there. And I wonder if I present it the correct way…have you ever talked about death with your kids? what was their perception and how you ended up?

    Like

    • I dont think it is too early to introduce the topic. I have done nothing to teach them about death or HereAfter, I mean a focused activity. But they get to know death, the life after death and the jannah awaiting good people through prophets stories and a lot of Quranic stories. My eldest daughter knew about death as early as 2 I think and Safiyya (3 yo) knows a great lot on topic. They know through stories and they keep asking me. I say to them we have to strive together if we want to be together in Jannah. If you could explain in childish kind of language that this world is temporarily and we have come only to collect good points through our good deeds. And one day Allah calls us all and His angels count our good/bad deeds. If we have more of a good deeds than Allah gives us Jannah. therefore we should be good, sharing, listening to mommy (whatever is appealing to their daily life experience etc) that should be enough inshaAllah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

