Kid’s Talk

Bismillah,

This is again a new project I have been thinking for a long time. All you need is a child/children and a clean notebook. Write down “Kid’s Talk” on the front cover page of your notebook. And you can record your child’s very unique conversations and talks in this notebook.

Sometimes my children amaze me with very thoughtful statements. Sometimes they make us laugh with their innocence and very funny talks. Sometimes what they say really makes me ponder. I always think I will write it down before I forget as I would like to read and remember these days together when they are older. It must be especially nice to read it together when they are adult and have their own kids. But all too often I forget, with some much running around the house lol.

Anyway, later I had this idea. It’s impossible to record all of their conversations and talks. But what if each week I try to spend 10 minutes  doing a focused activity merely to get them talk, cause a conversation and I can write their conversations, thoughts, opinions and ideas on that topic. Once a week seems to be okay and this weekly KIDS TALK activity takes maximum of 10 minutes. I present something visual, a picture, an object and pose 1-2 question and try to cause a useful and meaningful conversation with both my kids, Sumayya and Safiyya. And inshaAllah I will write down their answers and opinions quickly after the conversation. This gives me a chance to observe their speech development and note what is going on in their minds. I invite all of you to participate in this project and share your notes on your KIDS TALK notebook. Let us have fun reading our kids thoughts and it is so joyful thing to do too!!!

OK. This week’s topic for KIDS TALK is “Growth and Change”. You need to find three pictures of your children as babies and three recent pictures. Talk to them what they did then as a baby and what they can do now as 3 year old/ 5 year old. Try to remember what they say and how they express their ideas and thoughts. Remind them how Allah created them as baby and Allah provided food/family for their healthy growing and therefore we have to be grateful ( this helps to develop the Habit of Gratitude) .

Please share the conversation you have with your kid/kids here inshaAllah, would be nice to read what they come up with :D

Leave a Reply

